Inari Media

Home » Business » Film Studios Getting Us to Do Their SEO for Them Now?

Film Studios Getting Us to Do Their SEO for Them Now?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog

Categories

The strangest thing happened to me last night. I was on the sofa, waiting for an ad break to end on television when something caught my eye: a trailer for a major film (I won’t say which one, I don’t want to give them the publicity they seek) implored viewers to “Google ‘[choice of search words] now!”

I nearly did. I thought to myself, “Maybe there’s a competition to enter or something! Whee! Freebies!” But before my typing kicked in, my real brain — the one I use for thinking — engaged. The cheeky scallywags at the film studios marketing department were trying to get me to do their work for them!

Think about it: an advertisement, placed during the broadcast of a very popular television show, on a national channel, asking millions of people to Google a specific search term. Not sending them to a website, asking them to perform an internet search. Now, I am fairly slapdash when it comes to this blog’s search engine optimisation (SEO), but even I can recognise a blatant attempt at sucking up Google juice when I see one.

At its most basic, it works like this: the more searches that are performed for a certain term, the higher up the Google rankings it goes. Target the right phrase and your website can end up being the first result that a search engine returns. So, by asking the multitudes of viewers of a show that you know is being watched to Google your chosen search term, even if only a minority act on your request, that is still thousands of people dutifully adding more fuel to your artificially-lit fire.

I shouldn’t be as outraged as I feel. I know that as far as big businesses as concerned, it matters not whether people are duped into providing an SEO boost, provided the bottom line is preserved. But I can’t shake the feeling that there is something insiduous, something sneaky, something downright dishonest about getting consumers to do the work that your marketing department is already getting paid for.

I don’t swear very often, but on this occasion, I heartily entreat the bigwigs at the studio in question to go suck a giant bag of dicks.

[Note: No image for this post. I trawled YouTube to find the culprit movie trailer, but ultimately failed.]

Leave a Reply

