Inari Media

Home » Tech & Web » In Search of a Personal Internet Experience

In Search of a Personal Internet Experience

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog

Categories

I’ve been spending some time lately trying to get various internet and social media accounts under control. I’ve managed to tame my RSS feed list and now only read things that are relevant to my work. I have made sure that all my Gmail accounts are hooked into multiple login treat so that I can swap IDs without launching a new window or restarting Friefox. But still, something is missing.

I love being able to swap from one email account to another, but I wish I could see all of my accounts on the same page, or at least in the same window. I love having a streamlined Google Reader experience, but I wish I could share certain headlines with Twitter, while sending others to Reddit, Newsvine, Digg, or Facebook. I would love being able to do all of this within the same window, without having to bother with a new tab opening up in my already-busy tab bar that I then have to click on, fill in extra information and then send through.

In short, I need a mutlple-ID-handling personal homepage on steroids. Toolbars don’t help. My poor Firefox install is already overburdened with social media toolbars that have tried and failed to make me happy. I have uploaded my contact details to Gist, but they don’t let me add to-do lists or notes to my profile in case I ever collaborate with anyone.

Am I asking for too much? Am I demanding a personalised social network that can also be used for work and project management? I don’t think so, although I do realise that some of the features I would love might be complicated to handle. Nevertheless, if you have any ideas for how I can manage multiple email accounts, Twitter profiles and (eventually) blogs from a single dashboard, I want to hear from you in the comments. Oh, and don’t you dare recommend Netvibes. They have broken my heart already.

[Image by LegoFenris]

Leave a Reply

