Inari Media

Home » Tech & Web » Freeware of the Week! [popurls]

Freeware of the Week! [popurls]

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog

Categories

It’s baaack! I have finally found it within myself to revive my weekly review of free stuff that makes life easier and just that little bit more pleasurable. Don’t get me wrong, there has been some wonderful stuff out there, but for some reason I just couldn’t bring myself to write about any of it. Until now…

This week, I am salivating all over popurls. I don’t know if you are anything like me, but I have more than one area of interest, and I read more than one source to get all the latest news and gossip for the areas I am most interested in. Sometimes, this can get a bit tedious, especially if I have neglected my Google Reader for longer than a day and find myself with more than 1000 items to read. Until now, I was thinking that there must be a better way, and luckily for me there was.

If you sign up to popurls, you are effectively taking control over your own news agenda. Not only can you sign up via a number of different social networks to log in, but once you have you can customise your homepage to make sure that you only receive news from those websites and news sources that you consider to be most important. Having said that, my initial exploration of the site filled me with joy as it already had most of the business and tech websites that I read regularly; I barely needed to customise at all. With just a little bit of tweaking I was set up with everything I needed.

Essentially, popurls functions as a single page for all of your most important news. You can customise your page so that all the feeds you refer to most often are aggregated and collated for easy reference. Once you do that, you can also set up your account to automatically feed headlines to various social media services, such as Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr or FriendFeed. Never again do you need to appear as though you are playing catch-up, because popurls will do all the heavy lifting for you.

If you’re like anything like me (a dilettante with the attention span of a gnat), popurls is a godsend, as it means that you can get all the news you are interested in on one minimalist page. No more having to have multiple pages load on browser startup, no more having to adhere to a strict schedule of webpage visits. Instead, just the occasional refresh to make sure that you have the latest headlines.

As far as I’m concerned, everyone who takes blogging or news-gathering seriously ought to be using popurls. From what I’ve seen, the advantage in social media is not only from having a unique view, but also from being the first with the breaking news or gossip. Now, granted, if you get your news from popurls you won’t be the first. But you could be second, or third. This is an amazing tool for anyone who wants to stay on top of developments in their particular niche, and that is why I am recommending it. Even better, it is a web app, so it is compatible across all systems. Check popurls out today. It’s almost impossible that you’ll be disappointed.

1 Comment

  1. brilbright says:

    I think it’s great to see that things are constantly changing and improving.

Leave a Reply

