Inari Media

Home » Work & Careers » Regrets, I’ve Had a Few…

Regrets, I’ve Had a Few…

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog

Categories

Hi! If you’re reading this, you either haven’t gone to bed yet, or you — like me — were blessed with the inability to get hangovers, unlike the poor unfortunate I’ve chosen to illustrate this post with. This post was written in advance, so I can’t actually regale you with tales of how I spent my New Year’s Eve, but I am fairly certain that (a) alcohol was involved, and (b) I tried and failed to get my boyfriend to dance with me.

Still, I have managed to maintain at least one New Year’s tradition: I’ve made a number of resolutions, both personal and professional, and the latter categories are the ones I’m going to share here. I am gambling on the idea that if I have spelled out my goals for the year ahead in a public forum, I’m more likely to stick to them, for fear of being shamed when I fail to measure up.

What I would like to do first, however, is to remember and admonish myself for all the things that I feel that I could have done better last year:

  • Posting frequency; this blog is over a year old now, but the number of posts I’ve made doesn’t reflect that, nor have I managed to get as many different kinds of posts as I’d have liked to done. 2010 resolution: more posts, more topics, more series.
  • Social networking; I have to admit, there have been times, especially with the Inari account, that I have been fairly standoffish on Twitter, pumping out links, but not interacting with other users as much. 2010 resolution: put more “social” into my networking.
  • Marketing; it’s all very well to publish the blog and to send out updates on Twitter, but that’s not really much of an effort into publicising the content here. 2010 resolution: put more work into spreading the word and hopefully attract some new readers.

So now that I know where my failings are, what other things do I hope to do in the year ahead? Well, first, I’m going to organise my time better so that I can keep up my blogging rate. I’ve already taken time to put together a schedule for my regular working day, so that I can devote enough time to the blog and researching new topics to write about even when I have other things on the go. Also, I’ve put together a wish list of potential guest bloggers and contributors who I would simply love to have  write a post here; emails will be going out to them about twice a month.

Next, I’ve been debating whether it might be a good idea to shift this blog to it’s own domain. On the one hand, I’d be able to carry advertisements, amend the look of the template, and generally change the feel of the blog to something more individual and suited to its “personality.” On the other hand, I’d hate to disrupt the links to this blog from elsewhere, and am loath to go through the hassle of maintaining two entities while waiting for people to catch up.

Finally, I’m going to respond to reader circumstances and make the content of the blog far more universal than it has been until now. Don’t worry, I’m not going to stop focusing on Kenya; I am, however, going to write about business and tech from a more international perspective. Looking over the stats for the year, most of my visitors have come from the USA, with those from Kenya second, and the UK third. There have also been visitors from any number of other countries, from Argentina to  Indonesia and back again. There will be specific Kenya-only posts, but in general I’m going to try for something that everyone can enjoy, no matter where they are at the time.

It’s always good to take stock, re-evaluate and think about whether you could be doing things differently. I’ve managed to sort out my resolutions for 2010. What are yours?

[Image by Carlo Nicora]

2 Comments

  1. Godfrey says:

    Congratulations on keeping the blog going! I hope you are able to live up to your resolutions. On another note, a number of Kenyan bloggers have in the past moved to their own domains and the results have not been impressive.

    Its not easy to get advertisements as there is a process to go through. There are also technical issues to do with website administration which you currently don’t have to experience as long as you are in WordPress.com. For example, you wake up one morning and find the entire system has been upgraded! In your own domain, you will have to do this yourself or pay a programmer to do it for you.

    Generally, having an own domain means more work. Are you ready for this?

  2. Stephanie Migot says:

    Hi! It’s not really the website admin that would trouble me, more that incessant fiddling with plugins and CSS that I’d suddenly be able to do. At the moment the restrictions placed on the free templates keep me in check, but I do worry that with unlimited freedom I could find myself spending more time worrying about the look of the website than I would the content, which is getting my priorities the wrong way round, methinks.

    I have seen a few Kenyan bloggers move to their own domain in the past year, and while I’m not sure what it’s done for their traffic, you are right in that securing advertising and sponsorship seems to be difficult for them. This could be down to individual management of their advertising accounts or a more general lack of knowledge about what to do with people who are essentially writing for two audiences, particularly if they are running political blogs. Still, as the Kenyan blogosphere continues to grow, it will be interesting to see if somebody comes up with a solution that strikes a happy medium.

Leave a Reply

