Inari Media

Home » Tech & Web » Will You Be Downloading the Latest Version of Firefox?

Will You Be Downloading the Latest Version of Firefox?

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog

Categories

After what has seemed like a geological age in beta, Firefox 3.5 is finally available to download. The new browser is apparently twice as fast as its predecessor and promises tools such as location-aware browsing, private browsing and better Javascript capabilities.

Firefox 3.5 has been so long in beta that there is likely to be a stampede to get the legit version, and I have already upgraded my version to take advantage of all the new goodies… and promptly rolled back to Firefox 3.

I don’t have massively special needs, but I do use a host of add-ons, and I couldn’t cope with losing my favourites, even if only temporarily. In addition, despite the much-vaunted speeds, Firefox 3.5 actually ran slower than Firefox 3 on my laptop. This may be because of various tweaks I’ve used to speed up the browser, it may be that my broadband connection was throwing a hissy fit, or maybe I need to upgrade my laptop because Firefox 3.5 needs more memory than I can offer. Whatever the cause, it was slow and clunky, with delays switching between tabs and between the browser and other programs. A few short hours was enough to turn me off completely and Firefox 3.5 had to go.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the Firefox browser. It is my main browser and I only ever use another browser if I need to do something like log into a different Gmail account without disrupting Google Reader.  I manage my life through Firefox, and would be completely lost without it. But until, at the very least, the add-ons that I have come to depend on have been updated so that they are compatible with Firefox 3.5, and I can figure out why it runs so slowly on my system, I won’t be joining the Firefox 3.5 party. The browser will still be hugely popular, I expect, but I don’t feel able to join in just yet.

Leave a Reply

