Inari Media

Home » Tech & Web » Freeware of the Week! [101 Clips]

Freeware of the Week! [101 Clips]

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog

Categories

I cut and paste a lot. Sometimes, I need to have Notepad open so I can keep track of the various things I’d like to copy from one program or window to another. Every so often, I forget that I’m waiting to paste something and unthinkingly copy a snippet of something else, losing the first bit of data. Annoying, frustrating, and occasionally serious enough to cause howls of outrage. Luckily for my sanity, I have found a program that sorts out that problem with the minimum of fuss.

101 Clips lies to you, in that it doesn’t actually have 101 separate clipboards, but 25. Aside from that, the program is pifflingly simple: download and install it, run it minimised and it will capture the most recent 25 things that you have cut or copied. To retrieve a particular snippet, all you have to do is restore the 101 Clips window and click on the item you want. Incredibly easy.

I’m not going to skirt around the issue: this is not the prettiest program out there, and the interface could do with some improvement. It would be nice if you didn’t need to switch between programs to retrieve snippets and the program was fully integrated into Windows right-click menu perhaps, but for what it is, 101 Clips is a very good utility that is very hard to let go of once you’ve become used to it.

101 Clips is compatible with Windows, from 98 to Vista and uses a tiny amount of your hard drive space. If you find yourself copying or cutting lots of data and find it a scramble to keep track of them, this is a program that you will come to love. Download 101 Clips today, and get your snippets in order.

[Image by Andrew Coulter Enright]

1 Comment

  1. Kelvin says:

    I really like your freeware of the week series. Really. this one is a godsend!! I copy paste so much that I very often lose track of what I was doing, especially when I have to go afk for a lil bit.
    I’ll be giving this one a try for sure.

Leave a Reply

