Inari Media

Home » Tech & Web » Freeware of the Week! [Thunderbird]

Freeware of the Week! [Thunderbird]

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog

Categories

I had a bit of a struggle coming up with a candidate this week. At first I wanted to go for something to do with security, then after my post about getting started with Linux, I thought maybe a virtualisation program which would allow users to run a distribution within Windows. But nothing really inspired me.

Redemption came as I was checking my emails, thanking my lucky stars that I didn’t have use Outlook and marvelling that I could check my mail and read my RSS feeds in the same window. All thanks to Mozilla Thunderbird.

Thunderbird is an open source email client with IMAP/POP support and will make very short work of linking to the mailserver of your choice. It offers all the features you’d expect from an email program, including junk mail filters, return receipts, an address book, import support and the ability to manage multiple email and newsgroup accounts.

Thuderbird also offers automatic updates and an easy-to-use interface which even new users will be able to get to grips with quickly. It will take up no more than 25MB on your hard drive, so if you’ve got the space and want to get your email under control, download Thunderbird today!

Leave a Reply

