Inari Media

Home » Tech & Web » Hearty Applause for TechRadar and their Girly Gadgets

Hearty Applause for TechRadar and their Girly Gadgets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog

Categories

When I saw that TechRadar had an article on the Top 10 Christmas Gadgets for Girls, I have to admit I felt a certain amount of trepidation. I’m happy to say that I was pleasantly surprised.

In the past, when it comes to any gadgets supposedly designed for women, what will be presented is an unholy alliance between second-rate hardware and lashings of pink. Because women don’t care about specs, do they? They just want it to look pretty!

I went over to the TechRadar site with my righteous anger primed and my bile duct ready for a workout, expecting to see a riot of injection-moulded plastic and sub-standard technology with the colour of Pepto Bismol. Instead, what I saw were a series of decent out gadgets that would actually be suitable for any gender, with the only pink in evidence an odd-looking attachement for the iBuzz Two Music-Activated Vibrator (under £20 for those in the UK, ladies; write to Santa!).

Generally, I don’t have a problem with anything on the list, although I do think that the PNY Lady Attache was pushing it a bit. Seriously, guys: £32.50 for a USB with fancy patterns on the casing? I’m of the opinion that a present that small is a stocking filler, rather than a proper gift. And the USB foot warmer? I have bad circulation, but I don’t think I’ ll be hooking my tootsies up to my laptop any time soon. That’s what hot-water bottles are for.

But those are only minor quibbles. As a whole, the TechRadar list is a refreshing change from the fetish for pink that has characterised coverage of women’s tech in the last few years, and it is to be welcomed. Gentlemen, I salute you. Next year, if you can manage something like a Skype headset that won’t mess up my hair, or a console controller that can be used comfortably with long nails, I’ll be your happiest fangirl.

[Image by Snupped]

Leave a Reply

