Inari Media

Home » Business » Strive for Excellence, But Plot Your Path

Strive for Excellence, But Plot Your Path

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog

Categories

I’m not ragging on The Nation, I swear. It was just an article on taking your business to the next level that caught my eye.

Purity Nyamu has been hanging out with an entrepreneur and she has been inspired by him to ask “What is my plan?”

It seems that Purity has settled on the opinion that entrepreneurs who spend much of their time planning their business are neglecting the thrill of the chase for profits. Apparently, too much planning leads to too little doing.

I don’t have an argument with such a viewpoint; not until it descends into the madness of the article’s final paragraph:

Do not plan on taking your business to the next level but, take your
business to the next level — there is a difference between the two.

Now, if Purity could just enlighten me as to how a business is taken to “the next level” without any planning, I’d be very grateful. It would save me hundreds of hours in research, and I could continue charging my clients the same amount of money for spending 90% of my time sitting on my sofa watching trash television.

While there will always be dreamers who are full of plans but never achieve anything, it is impossible to run a successful business without planning ahead. It’s articles like this that show that journalists, while reporting on the real world, do not actually inhabit it. Purity, love, take a risk, start a business of your own, and then tell me how the rest of us have all been doing it wrong. Once you’ve done that, I might find it in my heart to respect you.

[Image by Rudibond]

Leave a Reply

